Carly Schultz

CarlySchultz.JPG
 
 

Age and Hometown: 34, Born in Charlotte, MI

Current Resident of: Traverse City, MI for 3 years, Denver, CO prior to that

Family: Christian Schultz, husband of 10 years and son Sawyer, 4

Years Running: on and off for 10 years, more seriously the last 2 years.

Why do you run: Of course, as we all say, it clears my mind, keeps me sane at home – but it also keeps me active, it gets me through the dark sunless winters of Northern Michigan, for the social aspects, and most importantly I can EAT AND DRINK what I want!

Running Accomplishments: Ran my first (an only as of now) marathon in Jackson Hole, WY one month before getting pregnant with my son. A lot of top three finishes in the local Traverse City races in the year of 2017. Completed my first RAGNAR in 2017, a team relay race from Muskegon to Traverse City, our team finished 4th in the Co-ed division. Prior to joining TCTC a year ago My best 5K time was 32 minutes, my PR this year at Cherry Festival was 23:40

Favorite Race(s): Bayshore, Betsie Bay Frozen 5k, Ragnar, North Country Trail Half Marathon, Trail Running Festival, Jingle Bell Run, Farmland, Jackson Hole Marathon

Favorite Running Race Distance: It varies, I really enjoy the speedy 5K, but the challenge of the half marathon as well, I normally do both distances multiple times a year

Favorite Pre-race meal: Oatmeal with raisins and pepita butter, water, coffee

Any Goals for 2018: Complete the Bayshore half in under 2 hours, better my time at the North Country Trail Half, Run and enjoy a couple trail 25k’s, Get a 5K in the 22 mins, and continue getting faster at all distances and HAVE FUN!

Favorite Running Quote: "Run Often. Run Long, But never outrun your Joy of Running."

Best running advice given to me: Enjoy the ride getting there, not the results.

Dumbest running moment: Changing up my fuel when training for a full marathon and having to find a bridge at mile 16…….

What other interests do you have outside of running? Anything active outdoors: Snowboarding, Biking, Snowshoeing, Hiking, Paddle Boarding, Wake Boarding, spending time with my family in the great outdoors.

How do you feel about and how do you plan to represent the Traverse City Track Club as a Race Team member? TCTC welcomed me with open arms when I was new to the city and not knowing really anyone. It has truly become my family away from family. It is such a great opportunity we have in our city, and is an honor to represent them.